Natalie Tathem completes Olympic return

Olympic FC

Olympic Football Club are delighted to confirm the return of midfielder, Natalie Tathem ahead of the 2022 NPL Queensland Women’s season.

Tathem, who captained Olympic to the 2016 NPL Queensland Women’s Grand Final returns to Olympic with six seasons of Liberty A-League Women’s experience under her belt across stints at Brisbane Roar and Melbourne Victory.

After being sidelined for a year after suffering ACL injury on debut for Melbourne Victory the midfielder returned to action in January going on to make eight appearances for the Roar in the 2021/22 season.

Despite her ACL injury keeping her sidelined for Olympic’s first season back in the elite women’s space Tathem was heavily involved, assisting with coaching while also undergoing her rehab at the club throughout 2021.

Tathem said she was delighted to be back in red and white for the 2022 season.

“My come back to Olympic has been delayed by a year but that has made me all the more motivated and excited to be back,” Tathem said.

“It’s been over fives years since I’ve been able to play for Olympic and I’m so excited as this was the club and the coaches who supported me to make it into the W-League back in 2016.

“On a personal level I am looking to get more game time in the legs since coming back from my ACL.

“On a team and club level I want to be able to help my team win games, build on our style of play and most importantly make sure we are enjoying being out there.”

Tathem joins Brittney Lacek, Lua Suero, Faith Stephenson, Christina Amajouyi, and Kristi New as the sixth confirmed new arrival in the Olympic squad ahead of the 2022 NPL Queensland season.

Olympic kick off the new NPL Queensland Women’s season away against Lions FC at Lions Stadium on Friday night (8:15pm KO).

2022 Olympic FC NPL Queensland Women’s squad (announced):  1. Julia DUFFY, 4. Willow LIUKAINA, 5. Faith STEPHENSON, 6. Grace CHALMERS, 7.  Lua SUERO, 8. Teani KARALOUKA, 9. Rosie SUTTON, 10. Brittney LACEK, 11. Natalie TATHEM, 13. Matalena DANIELLS, 14. Talia SANDERS, 17. Christina AMAJOUYI, 22. Kristi NEW