Experienced quartet ink deals for 2020

Olympic FC have locked in four of their most experienced stars for the 2020 season with Kristen Waters, Matt Mundy, Kazuya Ito & James Cuminao all inking deals for the upcoming campaign.

Alongside Costa Psaros the quartet make up the club’s five longest serving current players.

Kazuya Ito has cemented himself as a fan favourite and is the Club’s record NPL Queensland appearance holder with 144 appearances and 13 goals to his name.

The versatile Japanese maestro was part of the side that won the NPL Queensland Grand Final and Premiership in 2013 and is the only player to have appeared in all five of Olympic’s FFA Cup national round fixtures.

Matt Mundy, who sits second on the Club’s NPL Queensland appearances charts behind Ito has made 127 appearances, scoring 6 goals.

A former Hyundai A-League double winner with Brisbane Roar, Mundy who is equally adept in defence or midfield has been ever-present for Olympic earning a reputation as one of the leagues most respected players.

Waters signs on for a fourth season in red and white, the 28-year-old has played 83 games for Olympic, scoring 12 goals.

A towering physical presence who was used at both ends of the park during the 2019 season scored Olympic’s only goal in the Grand Final defeat against Gold Coast Knights.

James Cuminao has been with Olympic since 2014, making 107 appearances and scoring five goals, last season Cuminao joined Ito, Mundy and Danny Byrne as an Olympic centurion.

The 24-year-old who has operated in both defence and midfield during his time at the club said his side are aiming high under Head Coach Ben Cahn.

“Every season is getting better and better and with the squad Ben has put together this year I’m sure we can get that one step closer and win the Premiership,” Cuminao said.

“My aim for this season is to play every game and put all my focus on football because it’s very rare a coach like Ben comes along gives the time of day to help improve you as a person and a footballer.”


Tom AULTON, James CUMINAO, Shelford DAIS, Danny DRIVER, Jack GLOVER, Lachlan HUNTER, Kazuya ITO, Jean-Philippe LASM, Daniel LECK, Jez LOFTHOUSE, Tyson MARTIN, Matt MUNDY, Costa PSAROS, Kristen WATERS, Steve WHYTE, Olaide YINKA-KEHINDE

Stay tuned with the rest of the squad set to be announced in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply